Evidence of the Affair by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Wonderful and moving short story about heartbreak and new opportunities that come out of loss

A little different than normal, but I wanted to do a quick review of a short story/novella I read this week. It was under 100 pages so I am not counting it towards by 14/month but still thought it was worth mention. Last year, I read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and it was definitely in my top five favorite books. It was incredibly beautiful and I still think about the ending from time to time. This was recommended and since it was available for free through Amazon Prime (link here), I decided to do a read through.

WOW, it was wonderful. It was so short and still packed an incredible punch. It was an epistolary novella of two people realizing their spouses are having an affair. It also included evidence via the letters between the cheating spouses. It takes place over the span of about a year and details their heartbreak and the solace they find in each other. They discuss how their lives and relationships have led up to this point and how they work through their feelings upon the discovery. It was beautiful, poignant, and I am so glad I read it. I would definitely recommend, especially since it is so fast and easily accessible.

One thought on “Evidence of the Affair by Taylor Jenkins Reid”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started