Book 166 – You Can Run by Karen Cleveland

Classic thriller of subterfuge and spies with continual twists

  • Started: December 28, 2021
  • Finished: December 28, 2021
  • Pages: 313
  • Multiple POV, Timeline Jumps
  • Rating: 4.75/5

REVIEW + SUMMARY

I’m back! At least to wrap up 2021. While I have been reading a bit in 2022, I haven’t been pushing through books quite as aggressively and I am still undecided on whether or not I will be maintaining this blog/my reviews. If nothing else, I wanted to get through the last three books I read so look out for for two more over the next few days.

I picked this book up on a whim from the library and it was a very classic thriller filled with international espionage and intrigue. I thought that all the characters were sensible – given the circumstances – and that it ended on a strong note. The villains were particularly deceptive and good at their jobs. Espionage and international conspiracies can get pretty far-fetched but I thought this operated well within the realm of what various nations would do in order to pull ahead.

Jill, a CIA analyst, is having a normal day vetting sources when she gets a call that her son, Owen, has been kidnapped. in order to get him back she needs to approve the next source in her queue, Falcon, no questions asked. She does, quits her job, immediately relocates her family out of state and constantly worries about the fall out. There doesn’t seem to be any until four years later when a journalist, Alex, reaches out to he after an anonymous tip about Falcon. At first Jill is reluctant to help, happy enough knowing that her family is safe. But Alex has piqued her curiosity and as they start to learn more about Falcon, Alex is able to convince Jill that she needs to come out of retirement. The two women join forces in order to protect both the nation and Jill’s family from a much larger, hidden threat.

I really liked this book and would definitely recommend. It reminded me a bit of The Banker’s Wife by Cristina Algers or The Power Couple by Alex Berenson. I like the spy genre and when books play out on such a large scale. I look forward to reading more by this author.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started